DUI Penalties in Fort Myers and Naples
What are the penalties for a first-time DUI offense?
The Florida legislature has enacted harsh punishments for anyone who commits the crime of drinking and driving, and if you have been arrested for DUI you must take action now to defend yourself against the serious consequences you face. First, you could be required to pay a fine of $1,000, in addition to dramatic increases in your insurance rates. The judge can order you to perform fifty hours of community service and place your vehicle in impoundment for ten days, in addition to possibly requiring you to install an ignition interlock device which will make it necessary to provide a breath sample before starting your vehicle and at random intervals while driving. You can be sent to jail for up to six months, and even if you avoid incarceration you will still most likely be placed on probation for a full year.
What is the sentence for a repeat drunk driving conviction?
The penalties you could receive for a second offense are significantly tougher, including a $2,000 fine, thirty days of vehicle impoundment and up to nine months in jail. If it has been less than five years since the original arrest, you may be required to serve at least ten days in jail, including forty-eight consecutive hours.
A third arrest can lead to a sentence including as much as $5,000 in fines, ninety days of vehicle impoundment and up to a year in jail, of which thirty days may be mandatory. If it is the third offense within ten years-or a fourth offense-you can be charged with felony DUI and punished with up to five years in state prison.
DUI Driver's License Revocation in Florida
In addition to the criminal penalties of a DUI, you are also at risk of a driver's license suspension being imposed by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Unless you request a DMV hearing within ten days of your arrest, the Department will almost certainly suspend your license for a period of 180 days to a year for a first offense. A second DUI within five years is punishable by a minimum five year suspension, while a third conviction within ten years can lead to a ten year revocation and a fourth conviction can result in a mandatory permanent revocation. Don't hestitate to call a Naples DUI attorney at Parks & Braxton, PA for the tough defense you need to avoid these serious penalties. Our firm has helped thousands of clients with their DUI charges and we provide 24/7 support so that you can move forward with life.